New Mexico  |  Intellectual Property

question bubble
10/05/10, 7:49 am

Legal Question


I have an original painting by a famous (deceased) artist that I would like to sell online. I have been told that the artist's estate is attempting to prohibit anyone online use of this artist's work without payment of a licensing fee. Is it legal to use a digital picture of an original painting to sell that same painting in an online forum (like eBay), or do I need express permission from the artist's estate?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search