New Mexico  |  Military Law

question bubble
10/23/00, 8:14 pm

Legal Question


discharge

I was recently diagnosed with a disorder called cyclothymic disorder that causes severe mood swings. I am in the US Marine Corps and I was wondering, my doctor is putting in a recommendation to my commander to have be seperated from the Marine Corps. It was a Prior to Service illness that was never detected until know. What I was wondering was, can they deny a discharge even if recommended by a doctor? Would it be smart to get a civilian attorney or a JAG Attorney or to just wait it out? Is there any way under the UCMJ or other code or whatnot or contract that could speed the process up?

Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search