New Mexico  |  Personal Injury

question bubble
10/30/09, 2:41 pm

Legal Question


i run into a parking meter (the new ones) last night. this morning, i did not remember it and i thought my car was stolen and i call to report it. a police officer came to my house and told me that they found my car and that the accident happened in front of a federal building with cameras. they asked me if i was driving it and i deny it. they told me that they will check the cameras and comeback to arrest me. what should i do?


question bubble
11/04/09, 3:17 pm

Legal Answer


1. Do not speak or associate with any law enforcement personnel at all. You have a 5th Amendment right to remain silent. Exercise it.

2. Consult a criminal defense law;yer. Initial consultations are usually done at no charge. If you don't know any, contact the State Bar of New Mexico. They will provide a list.

Charles Aspinwall

Charles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLC
PO Bx 984
Los Lunas, NM 87031-0984

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search