New Mexico | Traffic Law
Legal Question
I received a speeding citation while on a road trip in a state other than to one I am a resident of. The citing officer knew I was from out of state and that I was on my way back home. He wrote me a ticket and said that something would come in the mail for me in a few weeks. I expected a fine and was going to pay it. I didn't realize that I was speeding, but I took the officer's word for it and was going to comply. Instead of a fine, I received a notification for a mandatory court appearance 8 days from now. The court threatens an increased fine, or even a warrant issued for my arrest, if I don't show up. Even if I had the time to drive back out, which I don't, I find it unreasonable for them to require me to make an almost 19 hour drive (not to mention the 19 I'll need to drive back home again) when they already knew I lived out of state, and I was completely willing to pay the fine. I can't afford to fly out, and wouldn't have time even if I could. What should I do in this situation. Thank you.


