New Mexico  |  Wills and Trusts

question bubble
4/06/05, 12:24 pm

Legal Question


Elderly male dies w/no living relatives

My friend of 18 years died today. He left no will and has no living relatives. I tried to convince him to prepurchase funeral arrangements to no avail. He currently has plently of money in the bank to pay for his arrangements but I am unsure how to legally access these funds. He wanted to be cremated and asked me to make the arrangements. I have his debit card but am afriad it is illegal to use it. I was his medical POA but I don't think that is going to help. I ,also, was his unpaid caretaker for the last four years. He died at the age of 89 and was a WWII vet.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search