Legal Question in Immigration Law in New York

Husband and my status?

Hello,

I have been married to my husband for 9 years. At 4th yearh, we started the greencard process based on employment and we finally got the greencard last January.

Two days before the greencard got approved, my husband quit his job with the employer who was the sponsor of his greencard process. Then he moved back to his home country and have been staying there so far.

My question is:

1. Because my husband quit his job 2-3 days before the greencard approval, could his staus be jeopardized?

2. If his status is jeopardized, what happens to my greencard which was obtained as a derivative?

3. Even if he loses his status could I still be permanent resident?

Thanks for your answers in advance.

Asked on 7/01/08, 7:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Michael Stewart Michael D. Stewart
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Husband and my status?

Yes. Both of your status' can be affected.

Read more
7/02/08, 9:03 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Immigration Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8807 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now