Legal Question in Landlord & Tenant Law in New York

Lease validity

I signed a standard lease for a homoe rental. The 2 year lease was signed on 7/3/09 for occupancy to commence on 8/1/09. Landlord received security deposit (of 2 months) and the first months rent check. Landlord deposited and cashed the security deposit check. I now received a call from landlord stating that his attorney wants him to sign not a standard lease but a new lease prepared by his attorney. I do not want to do that. Is my standard lease valid? The standard lease also included a personal guarantee that has also been signed.

Asked on 7/16/09, 9:26 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Stephen Loeb Law Office of Stephen R. Loeb
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Re: Lease validity

Yes, your lease is valid. You have no obligation to sign the new lease, if you need any assistance please feel free to call.

Read more
Answered on 7/16/09, 10:25 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Landlord & Tenants questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Landlord & Tenants Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now