New York  |  Criminal Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 4/01/08, 10:27 pm

mail fraud

stolen checks out of mail at company that recieves mail / packages - no prior offenses - does this mean jail time

4 Answers


Answered on: 4/10/08, 4:16 am by Carlos Gonzalez

Re: mail fraud

it very well can mean jail time, also as a result of it being a mail matter you could potentially face Federal prosecution on such a matter. You should seek an attorney as soon as possible. Feel free to contact my office for a free consultation at 212.709.8303


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Gonzalez Law Associates P.C. 380 Lexington Avenue, 17th Floor New York, NY 10168

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/02/08, 1:37 pm by Steven Czik

Re: mail fraud

It might, but you'll have a much greater chance of reducing the charges if you have an experienced lawyer representing you and preserving and protecting your rights. We have substantial experience handling these types of cases, and our fees are reasonable. However, we would need some more information before making a complete and proper determination. You are welcome to contact us for a free consultation.

Law Offices of

STEVEN J. CZIK, P.C.

101 Avenue of the Americas, 15th Floor

New York, New York 10013

212.413.4462

czik@ovedlaw.com

The information provided by The Law Offices of Steven J. Czik (LOSJC) is for general educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. LOSJC is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and LOSJC have signed a written retainer agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain LOSJC on terms acceptable to LOSJC, you are advised to immediately seek the services of another attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


CZIK LAW PLLC 401 Greenwich Street New York, NY 10013

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/02/08, 6:07 pm by AVA ZELENETSKY

Re: mail fraud

You should contact an attorney immediately, since this is a very serious charge and you will need a good attorney to defend you. Feel free to call me for a free consultation.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


AVA L. ZELENETSKY, ESQ. 75 South Broadway, 4th Floor White Plains, NY 10601

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 4/07/08, 2:30 pm by Anthony Colleluori

Re: mail fraud

Possibly. It depends on how much was taken and by whom and from whom and how. It also depends on where the case is being heard (state or federal systems)

The best thing to do at this point is to make an appointment with a good Criminal Defense lawyer and discuss these issues. He or she will have a better picture of what may happen.

Good Luck.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


The Law Offices of Anthony J. Colleluori & Associates PLLC 180 Froehlich Farm Blvd. Woodbury, NY 11797

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search