Legal Question in Family Law in New York

i was married in arizona and had two daughters with my now ex-husband. in order to leave arizona he had to sign a paper allowing me to do so. it has been 8 years now since then and have gotten re-married. My ex-husband has had no contact with the girls for now 5 years and the only child support i receive is is when they catch up with him. As of right now its been six months since a payment and before that i was only getting what taxes he got back. he continues to quit jobs to avoid child support ect... My new husband has been in our lives for now 5 years and wants to adopt my girls. what do we need to do to do that

Asked on 11/08/11, 11:06 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Daniel Clement Law Offices of Daniel Clement
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Your new husband will have to file a petition to adopt the children in the county in which the children reside.

Let me know if i can be of assistance.

Daniel Clement

Read more
Answered on 11/08/11, 11:21 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

89033 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Family Law, Divorce, Child Custody and Adoption Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Glen AshmanAshman Law OfficeAtlanta, GA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now