New York  |  Family Law

question bubble
7/14/08, 6:46 pm

Legal Question


NYS divorce with no grounds

I sued my estranged husband for divorce in 2006 based on abandonment. I had a very incompetent attorney but didn't know that until it was much too late. The divorce was denied. I filed a grievance against my attorney for various infractions and he was disciplined by the Grievance Committee. My husband refuses to a agree to a divorce. I believe abandonment was my only grounds and now it's been ''used''. We have lived separately for over four years. He also refuses to sign a legal separation. I have spoken to a few attorneys who tell me that my hands are tied. I am a single mom raising a 16 year old daughter and paying all bills on our home. What can I do?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search