New York  |  Real Estate Law

Legal Question

Asked on: 2/23/13, 6:15 pm

What is the first step to sell a joint owned property of 4siblings who have all agreed to sell said property

5 Answers


Answered on: 2/23/13, 6:22 pm by Paul Vaygen

Once a buyer is found, all 4 siblings must sign a contract of sale in their capacity as the sellers. When the parties are ready to close title, all 4 siblings must appear in person or by power of attorney at the closing to have the closing documents executed.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Law Offices of Paul A. Vaygen 2323 Brigham Street Brooklyn, NY 11229

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/23/13, 8:36 pm by Yefim Rubinov

The first step is to find a buyer for the house. Once that's accomplished, hire a lawyer to walk all of you through the process after that. Contact me If you need help finding an agent ot help you finding a buyer.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Yefim Rubinov Attorney at Law 861 East 27th Street, Suite 1C Brooklyn, NY 11210

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/24/13, 7:59 am by Arnold Nager

Once you have found a buyer you will need an attorney to draft a contract of sale and walk you through the sales process.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Arnold H. Nager, Esquire 79 Cliff Street Hastings On Hudson, NY 10706-2101

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/24/13, 12:22 pm by Walter LeVine

I agree with the other authors. Sometimes a broker is needed to obtain the Buyer, then a good real estate attorney can assist you through the process and the closing.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


Walter D. LeVine, Esq. 23 Vreeland Road #102 Florham Park, NJ 07932

Other answers from this attorney

Answered on: 2/25/13, 11:24 am by Steven Czik

Do you have a buyer? We have substantial experience handling these types of cases and very reasonable fees. However, we would need some more information before making a complete and proper determination. You are welcome to contact us for a free consultation.

CZIK LAW PLLC

401 Greenwich Street

New York, New York 10013

212.413.4462

steven@cziklaw.com

The information provided by Czik Law PLLC (CLP) is for general educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. CLP is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and CLP have signed a written retainer agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain CLP on terms acceptable to CLP, you are advised to immediately seek the services of another attorney.


Did you find this answer helpful?

0 Users found this answer helpful.

0 Attorneys agree with this answer.


CZIK LAW PLLC 401 Greenwich Street New York, NY 10013

Other answers from this attorney

Didn't find what you were looking for? Ask an Attorney!

Get answers from the top Attorneys
Ask Question

209 Answers given in the last few hours.

8662 Active attorneys ready to answer your question

Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search