New York | Disability Law
Legal Question
ADHD discrimination from school
A relative of mine was recently dismissed from a private university.
He was accused of cheating by 4 other students on a quiz that happened a year ago. During this quiz, he has
admitted to looking at another student's paper. The questions were located on a projector in front of the class. The tall
student in front of him held his paper up in clear view and became a distraction. On other testing occasions he is given
extra time and a separate testing area. For this particular quiz, he was not accommodated for.
These 4 students all made allegations attacking his character. As I read the investigation findings, a lot of the
allegations are related to symptoms of ADHD. He does not share his disability with anyone other than the school. All 4
students claimed he cheated but all stated to never see him do it
At his hearing, his accusers spoke first. ADHD causes him to have impaired auditory interpretation and he was
unable to provide a strong counter to their allegations. During his hearing he was unable to have someone represent or
help him in his defense. Can he sue the school for disability discrim and the accusers for defamation


