Legal Question in Administrative Law in New York

Assume that you are a trial court judge in Nebraska’s state court system and that Sigler v. Patrick is one of the civil cases that you must decide. Your research has revealed that the critical issue in Sigler is the same issue presented in Churchich v. Duda, a 1996 decision of the Supreme Court of Nebraska (the highest appellate court in the Nebraska system). The Churchich decision established a new common law rule for Nebraska. Your research has also revealed that in 2007, the Nebraska legislature enacted a statute that states a rule different from the common law rule established in Churchich. You believe, however, that the 2007 statute offers an unwise rule, and that the common law rule set forth in Churchich amount to much better policy. In deciding the Sigler case, are you free to apply the Churchich rule? Why or why not?

Asked on 9/21/13, 10:12 am

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arnold Nager Arnold H. Nager, Esquire
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

No. The 2007 action of the legislature overules the court's decision.

Read more
Answered on 9/22/13, 4:32 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Administrative Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88413 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Administrative Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony SmithLawSmithLee's Summit, MO
Michelle ScopelliteGoldstein & Scopellite, PCTucson, AZ
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now