New York  |  Appeals and Writs

question bubble
12/02/05, 1:31 pm

Legal Question


Dress Code May Put Employees in Danger

I work for the YMCA of greater NY for a program named Virtual Y! at P.S. 57 in Parkhill, Staten Island. They are implementing a dress code of Black slacks with Red shirts. The area we work in and school we work for is in a low income community. There are ''blood'' gangs that reside in the area (across the street from the school). Parents of children may be members as well. The colors red and black are a direct association with ''blood'' colors in such a neighborhood. If the dress code was changed to a blue shirt and black plants or yellow shirt ir even green, those are still associated with gang colors. The YMCA has been around for a long time but this dress code is poorly researched on their part. I want this situation to be taken care of before the dress code gets underway in the new year. We were told if we don't follow the dress code, we can't work for them. This is a harsh ultimatum considering the circumstance. I would like to know what can be done. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search