New York | Appeals and Writs
Legal Question
No legal claim to repossess
On 5/24, I signed a contract with a dealer for a vehicle. Title issued 7/04. Capital One Auto sent bills for car stating they were lien holders. I paid them until 2/05. I moved to PA in 12/2004 and tried to title the vehicle in PA on 2/1/2005 at Abat’s Tags of Montgomeryville. I couldn't register and title car since I have no PA driver's license. The clerk suggested I transfer car to my spouse, but said I would need a lien release from Chase as they were listed as the lien holder on the vehicle. Chase is listed on the contract as assignee. Contacted Chase and received a lien satisfaction letter and release from Chase. I stopped paying Capital One and transferred title on 3/1/05 with no lien. On 4/05, Dealer forged my signature to obtain a NY duplicate title and added Capital One as lien holder on 6/2/05. Traded the vehicle at a dealership on 8/1/05. Capital One filed suit to repossess car on 11/24/05 using the duplicate title as proof of their perfected security interest. My understanding of law is that once the car was titled in PA on 3/1/05 the NY Title issue on 7/1/04 became ineffective and any duplicate titles would be invalid. Also, once a release is signed by a creditor of record then obligation to contract ends.??


