New York | Bankruptcy
Legal Question
Bank account lien
Can a creditor (credit card) put a lien or freeze my bank account when this debt was included in my bankruptcy and had been discharged and do i have any recourse
Legal Answer
|
Read More Answered By: Bunji Fromartz |
Re: Bank account lien In general if the full amount was included in Bankruptcy there is no right to lien your account.
There are, however, some provisos and provisions in the law that does not allow full discharge of credit card debt (thank you Clinton) in most cases and if you do not pay a court case can be brought against you and a lien entered.
If your bank account is in the same bank as the creditcard company (like a citbank card and a citibank account) it may be possible that the lien is allowed.
If none of the above is true, you can bring an action in bankruptcy court against the credit card company and ask for triple damages.
Happy New Year
Good Luck |
Top Attorneys in NY
Law Office of David Watkins
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Law Offices of Debra Palazzo, LLC
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
Delain Law Office, PLLC
Schenectady, NY
Questions Answered: 944
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-24
Law Office of Savy Grant
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
NYC Divorce Center
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 576
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-23
Jeffrey A. Lazroe attorney at law
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
Ashman Law Offices, LLC
Chicago, IL
Questions Answered: 503
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-05-08
Frenkel Sukhman LLP
White Plains, NY
Questions Answered: 364
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-09
Rosenberg & Press L.L.C.
Stratford, CT
Questions Answered: 335
Last Question Aswered on: 2011-11-24
richard d. feldman
Whitestone, NY
Questions Answered: 294
Last Question Aswered on: 2007-11-19
Search Questions and Answers


