New York  |  Bankruptcy

question bubble
1/23/04, 12:19 pm

Legal Question


Indicted in NY after bankruptcy in FL to repay discharged loan?

Loans were taken out from two individuals in new york state.

Loans went into default.

Borrower moves to florida and files chapter 7 bankruptcy.

Trial hearing resulted in bankruptcy for both loans, one lender shows up and testifies the other lender does not. The court rules in favor of Defendant/Borrower and discharges both loans.

Borrower returns to NY and is indicted for Grand Larceny and scheme to defraud. Plea is offered to reafirm debt and pay lenders restiution.

Question: Is this in violation of the judgment issued in Florida? Can borrower file a motion in Florida to decide if this is a violation of that order / Estoppel? /


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search