Legal Question in Bankruptcy in New York

I live in NY state and was unable to pay my car insurance for over a year. Yes, irresponsible, I know. My car was repossed and sold at auction. Now I'm stuck with 4k+ in DMV fines as well as what I had owed to the insurance company in the first place. My license is suspended because of all this mess. I don't have the means to pay this fine AND purchase a used car...a car that I need to get to work in the first place. If I file for bankruptcy, will this clear my DMV debt? And if it does, will my license no longer be suspended?

Asked on 1/16/13, 12:02 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Charles Andersen Charles Andersen, Atty
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Probably not. Or it may clear your debt but not reinstate your license. Try thinking on a realistic level. Bankruptcy is not a cure all. ..learn more

Read more
1/16/13, 1:36 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Bankruptcy Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88177 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Bankruptcy Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
David SlaterDavid P. Slater, Esq.Boca Raton, FL
Phillip D. Wheeler, Esq.Phillip D. Wheeler, Attorney At LawMorro Bay, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now