New York  |  Business Law

question bubble
9/01/10, 5:00 pm

Legal Question


I own a company that is in my name. I took on two partners (one is my wife who is a chinese citizen with no ss #). The other is an American. We all own 1/3. The only thing I have stating that the other two are partners is a single piece of signed paper with a few sentences saying that they are both 1/3 owners with me, nothing more. My wife and I want to buy out the other partner. He will probably not want to leave. What can I do?


question bubble
9/06/10, 5:13 pm

Legal Answer


Attempt to negotiate a deal.

David Browde

David A. Browde, P.C. 604 Quaker Road Chappaqua, NY 10514

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
9/07/10, 4:54 am

Legal Answer


If he does not want to be bought out, as 2/3 owner (with your wife), you may petition for dissolution. Upon dissolution you would determine the value of the company and then pay the partner his 1/3 share. You would then start another company (with your wife) where each would own 50%.

Mike.

Michael Markowitz

Michael A. Markowitz, PC 1553 Broadway Hewlett, NY 11557

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search