New York | Business Law
Legal Question
FDCPA regulations
As a teacher in a private, post high school trade school, that recieves state funding for tuition. Is there a legal problem with us calling absent students up to 3 time a day to get them to attend. The funding is released in stages according to there attendence. We are required to call as many as 3 times per day, leaving messages, and contacting other family members informing them of a students absence. This seems very close to FDCPA rules, although the definition of ''creditior'' is vague a student can lose there funding with too much abseteeism. We are calling all absent students to prevent them from losing there funding or exceeding the time limit they may attend to graduate. After exceeding that limit they incur charge back at wich point they owe money against there loan. Again we are required to call up to three times an absent student and talk to whomever answers the phone. Is this harrasement under FDCPA regulations?


