New York | Business Law
Legal Question
oral contract law
In August 07, I offered a tutoring
student of mine a discount if he
wanted to prepay for a package of
hours for the remaining sessions he
wanted until the December exam. I
told him specifically that this is only
to his benefit if he knew he wanted
the sessions, and if he did, we would
make up a schedule for the sessions
and I would give him a discount for
buying them in advance. He agreed,
we made up a schedule to last until
December, and he paid in full. After
six sessions, he began postponing
sessions, until eventually, December
1st arrived (test day) and he only
completed 6 of 26 pre-paid sessions.
Dec 3rd, he asked me for a ''refund''
for the sessions he chose not to
complete. I believe I do not owe him
the sessions, as he guaranteed me
the business in exchange for the
discount. He didnt sign anything to
that effect, and now he claims he
didnt know he couldnt get a discount.
Do I owe him the money in return?
In my eyes, if he could potentially
cancel at any time, then I would
have to wait until after each
completed session to use the money,
thereby eliminating any incentive for
a discount or a prepay for that
matter. thank you
very much!!


