New York  |  Business Law

question bubble
12/06/06, 10:25 am

Legal Question


resume fraud

I would like to find out if it is illegal to make fake resume saying i recieved degrees that I didn't get and have work experience from several companys which I didn't work for, in order to get my self a job. If it is illegal what is the penalty for such an act as well as how likely will it be that any one will actually prosecute. Thanx in advance for all your help.


question bubble
12/06/06, 11:34 am

Legal Answer


Re: resume fraud

That is called "fraud." It will go unpunished until your would-be employer discovers it (and if they're worth their salt, they'll be checking references and will discover it during that process), at which time, if they have already hired you, the employer will be contractually entitled to summarily dismiss you and legally entitled to press charges for fraud against you. If your would-be employer does not hire you, they are still legally entitled to press charges for the fraud.

Fraud is a felony, which means it is punishable by more than 1 year in prison (not jail; prison. Attica. Sing-Sing. Like that). A felony conviction stays with you FOREVER, and, because a fraud conviction displays your penchant toward what we lawyers call "moral turpitude" (i.e., you're willing to commit a morally bad act for personal gain), a fraud conviction will get stapled to every job application you ever file for at least 10 years after your release from prison, vastly decreasing your employablity.

I hope this discourages you from distributing a fraudulent resume. If you've already done so, you can decrease the damage by contacting the would-be employer immediately and withdrawing your name from consideration for the job.

THE INFORMATION PRESENTED HERE IS GENERAL IN NATURE AND IS NOT INTENDED, NOR SHOULD IT BE CONSTRUED, AS LEGAL ADVICE. FOR SPECIFIC ADVICE ABOUT YOUR PARTICULAR SITUATION, CONSULT YOUR ATTORNEY.

Nancy Delain

Delain Law Office, PLLC
107 N. College St.
Schenectady, NY 12305

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
12/06/06, 12:58 pm

Legal Answer


Re: resume fraud

It is called fraud.

Mark S. Moroknek

Law Office of Mark S. Moroknek *
175 The Vale
Syosset, NY 11791

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search