New York  |  Business Law

question bubble
11/30/06, 12:33 pm

Legal Question


Rights to reproduction of my own artwork

In the 1960s & 70s I created witty sculptures that were sold through several galleries in NYC. I have come across excellent color slides of that work, all of which were sold long ago, and want to create a picture book of them. The galleries have since gone out of business and no records of sales or buyers can be located. I never had their names given me. Question: do I have the right now to reproduce pictures of those works by me in book form without permission from current individual owners wherever they may be? Thank you


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search