New York | Civil Rights Law
Legal Question
Open Container of Alcohol in Public View - NYC
A friend and I were in the city one night when my friend dropped his bottle of beer, which was not in a bag. A uniformed officer came over to us and reprimanded my friend for not cleaning it up, then proceeded to ask me what was in my bag. He took it from me then asked us both for ID and then wrote us up. My summons says that I was in violation of 10-125 2B and that I am to appear in court. Since I go to school in another state and have absolutely no way of getting to that court appointment, I had 2 questions.
1: What is the fine for this violation and will it appear on my record?
2: Is there any way to plead guilty by mail and then just send them the fine?
Thank you very, very much.


