New York | Technology Law
Legal Question
I am embarking on developing my patented hands-free device enabling safe texting while driving. i wanted to get a legal opinion on the consensus of the federal/state laws banning texting specifically, while driving. i wanted to get the legal community's opinion of whether the bans on texting are for all texting communication, (which would also include phone communication) as an illegal distraction, and therefore not allowed by the letter of the law, or is it just a matter of the use of a hands-held phone device for texting, that is banned, again by the letter of the law. or, perhaps, is there not any consensus on this in the legal community due to the newness of these laws.
in summary, i'd like to get an professional legal opinion of your interepretation of the 'letter' of these laws regarding texting, specifically, whether they only apply to hands-held phones, or do they apply to any and all texting/communicating from any phones while operating a vehicle. and how enforceable are these in a court?
thank you,
Top Areas of Law


