New York  |  Constitutional Law

question bubble
11/23/04, 11:37 pm

Legal Question


Right to remove name from a position

Our church constitution allows a right of initiative to call a special meeting with 25% of membership signing a petition. After collecting enough signatures to force a special meeting, some older people who admitted they did not read the entire petition before they signed it wanted to remove their signatures now that they have read the whole thing. Are they allowed to remove their name even though the petitions were delivered and acted upon by the board?? If enough people want and are allowed to remove their name could the called special meeting be denied because there are now not enough to make 25% rule?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search