New York | Construction Law
Legal Question
Days after signing my contract and a month before actual work began on my basement my contractor's license expired. We were never notified of this change in his status and he worked on the job very slowly for years. Now he is trying to charge us an exorbitant unquoted and not agreed upon amount of money for items which are not in the original contract, but we were told were included. He has no license, but has placed a lien. Isn't this, and working without a license illegal? What is the best way to have the lien removed? I paid for a licensed worker, am I entitled to a refund?


