New York | Construction Law
Legal Question
Mechanic's Lien and Quality of Work
We have a dispute with our GC regarding payment, and he put a lien on our apt, which we have since discharged thru a bond. We are waiting to see if he will try to negotiate or sue us.
But now we are having some quality issue with his work (tiling falling off.)I would rather not have anything to do with him, but if he does sue us, I would like the quality of workmanship to be a factor. Should I contact him and ask him to fix his work? Can I get another contractor to fix the work, and use that expense against the first contractor's dispute?


