New York  |  Construction Law

question bubble
10/14/09, 1:54 pm

Legal Question


I signed a contract a few weeks ago for some home remodeling with a local general contractor. The contract stated that the approximate start date was 10/13/2009 and the approximate end date was 10/23/2009. The contractor has not started yet and I am interested in getting out of this contract and choosing another remodeling option.

I have called the contractor's cell phone and office and no one has answered or returned my calls. They have not given me a new start date or anything and I do not know what is going on. I have not paid a down payment at this point, so my only investment at this time is my signature on the contract.

Can I just hire someone else since the contractor has not started yet and it is past the start date? What should I do to get out of this contract?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search