New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
7/27/09, 10:07 am

Legal Question


In 2000 I received two judgments in NY state. The debtor was involved in a divorce at the time. The debt was satisfied by cash from the sale of one property and transfer of deed from the second. The spouse in the divorce did not have any ownership of that property. I appeared as a witness for the debtor before a special referee in NY Supreme court. I now find that I am being sued, nine yrs. later for the amount that was collected. Unbeknown to me, in 2001 the special referee declared my claim to be incredible, fraudulent and without consideration. This is from my action from 9 yrs. ago and discovery of fraud from 8 yrs, ago. Am I covered by the statute of limitation?


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search