Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I'm charging 5% per month for loans I give to friends and one client let her check bounced and I'm planning to sue her but she might charge me with usury ?

Asked on 4/17/13, 3:08 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Rory Alarcon Rory Alarcon, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

NY limit on interest is set at 16% per year. Loans with interest rates over 25% per year can be charged as felonies. I would avoid the court route and rewrite the loan terms.

Read more
4/17/13, 3:24 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8785 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now