New York | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Debt Collector
A law firm acting as a debt collector files a lien on a homeowner who belongs to as association. The Notice of Lien was accompanied by a letter from the attorney of the law firm/debt collector stating that unless the alleged debt was paid, the law firm was directed to commence foreclosusre procedures against the homeowner.
My question is: Isn't this a violation under the Fair Debt and Collection Practices Act? (15USC 1692e)
Also, the notice of lien is for alleged assessments and attorney fees. How can attorney fees be applied to an alleged debt when there was not any judicial proceeding in which attorney fees were awarded?


