New York | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Husband's student loans and buying new apartment
I am marrying my fiance in September. I am debt-free, and he has about $40000 in student loan debt. We are buying an apartment together prior to marriage, mostly with my money. If I read these threads correctly, collections agencies could come after the apartment in the event that the loans go into default or collections, correct? In other words, the apartment (bought under both of our names) could be considered common property, and therefore at risk?


