Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I lent a friend about 80 thousand dollars several years. We had no written contract. The proof that the loan was made is: copies of cancelled checks I wrote to him, and email exchanges in which we discussed the existence of the loan, its amount, and he even promised to pay interest. Over the years, we have e-mails back and forth in which he apologizes for not being able to pay be back yet and I say no rush. We never set any deadline for repayment. QUESTION: when does the statute of limitations begin to run on his debt. I assume that it has not started at all, since he has not defaulted yet (there is no deadline and he has continuously promised to pay when he can). QUESTION: will I have a problem with the statute of frauds, since there is no written contract, just cancelled checks saying "loan" in the memo section and e-mails confirming the existence of the loan?

Asked on 10/28/13, 4:45 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

David Slater David P. Slater, Esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

His promise to pay does not toll the running of the S of L.

Read more
10/28/13, 7:59 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8661 active attorneys ready to answer your legal qustions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessHuntington Beach, CA
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now