New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
12/30/05, 2:15 pm

Legal Question


received a summons for very old credit card debt

a collection agency hired an atty. to serve (by mail dated 9/05 and received 12/29/05) a summons for a 10 year old credit car debt.i have a very high fico score, and clean credit record aside from this one card.Is the statute of limitations in effect? have they violated the fair debt collections practice act? how do i prove this, if necessary, how shall i respond? the letter says i have 30 days if summons was mailed,(which it was) but it is dated 9/14/05.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search