Legal Question in Credit and Debt Law in New York

I recently met a man online and we set up a date. While getting ready for the date I started getting a bad vibe and decided to call it off. So I texted him and apologized and excused myself. He called me back and yelled at me claiming I had wasted him time and money. Apparently he had bought tickets to a ball game and a flight ticket for me to go to Myrtle Beach with him. I told him how I had never asked for any of those things and told him that if it helps he could send me the bills and I would be happy to pay him back. Instead he threatened to sue me unless I sent him about $500 via Western Union. I politely declined to do that. Later that day I received a text message from him stating that he has filed a lawsuit against me and that there would be a court date in about 6-10weeks. I am an international student on an F-1 visa. I had mentioned this to him and the fact that I was planning on going home over the summer for a couple of months. He said that he has notified the customs and immigration about this lawsuit. I would like to know if he can truly do this. I never signed any contracts or anything so I do not understand what I did wrong here. Please do let me know if he can indeed sue me and if there is anything I can do to protect myself.

Asked on 4/24/10, 4:29 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Amy Klauber Klauber & Klauber, LLP
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

I do not believe he has any legitimate claims against you.

Read more
4/30/10, 7:38 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Credit, Debt and Collections Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8805 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Credit, Debt and Collections Law Legal Forms

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Legal Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino & La, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now