New York | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
Retraining order on checking account
My checking account has a restraining order placed on it. A law firm states I was served with the summons in October 1998. I never received that summons. I went through a debt consolidation firm to make payments on my debts. I fell behind a total 4 months (not in a row, over a period of time) due to a domestic partners health. Meanwhile, I have been paying all creditors for 18 months per the agreement with the debt consolidation firm. How long is a summons effective? How do I remove the restraining order from my account? Which has checks bouncing against that account.


