New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
6/21/04, 8:21 pm

Legal Question


Summons Served

A summons for a financial matter was served but I was not at home at the time. Instead of taping the summons to the door of my residence, the Process Server left it with a neighbor of mine that lives across the street from me. She happened to be outside at the time he arrived. Is this LEGAL??? This was not in an envelope and she was able to see exactly what it was. I feel that my privacy has been disclosed to my whole neighborhood and it is very embarassing. With the new privacy laws, I can't even get information about a Doctor bill for my husband, but yet my financial information can just be handed to a neighbor??? What can I do about this???


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search