New York | Credit and Debt Law
Legal Question
wife's responsibility when husband refuses to pay bills, taxes
A friend's husband hasn't paid federal taxes for two years and has stopped making payments on their home and car insurance. He is employed; everything is in his name; she works part time. There is money in his bank account. What does she need to do to protect herself from the consequences of his behavior? Can he be declared incompetent? She would not be able to pay a lawyer his/her normal fees.


