New York  |  Credit and Debt Law

question bubble
2/17/04, 3:43 am

Legal Question


What is the worst case scenario?

Hello. I received a summons dated 12/03. I never responded to it bec i im afraid, and i havent been well. Its from a law firm, regarding an old cc debt of around $2000. They have been very threatening to me. Recently threatening a judgement, even though i was making monthly payments of $88.

I have made no payment this month, bec I have learned from them, that a process server was hired and a lawsuit started. (Also i have never officially received any document yet from the process server).

Im really scared. What is the worst thing that can happen here? I think worse case, that a judgement will be entered. But what happens to me then? Is that a terrible thing?

In a moment of weakness, i wrote a letter asking them if they would settle the account for an amount. They are willing to settle for $1300 by 2/27. I am thinking of borrowing the funds to pay them, but part of me thinks that is insane.

Any advice i really appreciate. Many thanks to you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search