Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

i am being accused of grand larceny in the 4th, can i be found guilty if there is no proof or whitnesses, just a couple people and their heresay? the accusers have criminal records and i have no criminal history-only traffic offenses. Doesnt the state need to prove beyond a reasonable doubt with evidence or cann i be convicted just by some ones word over mine?

Asked on 3/29/13, 1:23 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Arkady Bukh Bukh Law Firm, P.C.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

If you charged with a crime, the burden of proof for the prosecution at trial is "beyond a reasonable doubt". They have to use viable evidence that the judge allows to meet that burden.

Read more
Answered on 3/31/13, 1:51 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88683 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Michael E. HendricksonAttorney & Counsellor at LawAlexandria,
Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now