New York  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
10/31/09, 12:52 pm

Legal Question


I was arrested last night and charged with PL 165.13 03 when I was unable to find my credit card to pay for a taxi. I was given a Desk Appearance Ticket by the city/county of New York. I am not sure how to respond to this Desk Appearance Ticket. Do I simply show up? Should I bring a lawyer? How serious is this charge--am I looking at fines or jail time? I have no prior convictions--is it likely this will be dropped? I have never been in a situation like this before and I am not sure what I should do.


question bubble
11/05/09, 2:46 pm

Legal Answer


There is no section 165.13. You probably mean PL 165.15(3), which is a Class a misdemeanor. You will need to get a lawyer as you do not want to plead guilty to this charge and have a criminal record. I am a former Assistant District Attorney and Special Assistant US Attorney and now do criminal defense. I appear in New York County criminal court on a regular basis and can help you.

Eric Rothstein

Rothstein Law PLLC
11 Park Place, Suite 1801
New York, NY 10007

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/09/09, 2:07 pm

Legal Answer


It would be highly reccomended to retain the services of an experiences attorney to defend you and preserve your rights. We have substantial experience handling these types of cases, and our rates are very reasonable. However, we would need some more information before making a complete and proper determination. You are welcome to contact us for a free consultation.

Law Offices of

STEVEN J. CZIK, P.C.

101 Avenue of the Americas, 15th Floor

New York, New York 10013

212.413.4462

czik@ovedlaw.com

The information provided by The Law Offices of Steven J. Czik, P.C. (LOSJC) is for general educational purposes only. There is no attorney-client relationship established by this communication and no privilege attaches to such communication. LOSJC is not taking and will not take any action on your behalf and will not be considered your attorney until both you and LOSJC have signed a written retainer agreement. There are strict deadlines, called statutes of limitation, within which claims or lawsuits must be filed. Therefore, if you desire the services of an attorney and decide not to retain LOSJC on terms acceptable to LOSJC, you are advised to immediately seek the services of another attorney.

Steven Czik

CZIK LAW PLLC
401 Greenwich Street
New York, NY 10013

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers: Search   Advanced Search