New York  |  Criminal Law

question bubble
11/12/09, 7:11 pm

Legal Question


Hi, my brother's 23 and he got a "bisobeyed Park sign" ticket from cops the other day at 10:45p.m. He and his friends were just outside hanging out but they didn't actually go into the park. However, he got a letter/ticket, telling him he needs to appear in a Criminal Court in 2 months, no fine to pay for now. All of them got this letter. They didn't do anything wrong, but the cops still wrote all of them this note. They were really rude to them and didn't even listen, they just didn't care. Can you please tell me what he and his friends can do to fight this wrongful accusation? Thank you in advance! Salome, Brooklyn, NY.


question bubble
11/17/09, 8:39 pm

Legal Answer


All tickets issued in the park are misdemeanors by law. Your brother and his friends can get a lawyer to either fight the case or try and work out a reasonable disposition. I am a former prosecutor and handle these type of cases. I might be able to give your brother and his friendsa group rate.

Eric Rothstein

Rothstein Law PLLC 11 Park Place, Suite 1801 New York, NY 10007

Other answers from this attorney
question bubble
11/18/09, 12:15 pm

Legal Answer


The charge as written is a misdemeanor. My experience with these types of tickets is that they either get dismissed, ACD'd or reduced to a violation with a small fine. The other option is to plead not guilty and request a trial , which in this case will be by a judge only. I handle these issues on a regular basis and would be happy to discuss it further with you. You may contact my office @7188340087.

Robert Evans

Robert S. Evans esq. 26 Court St. Suite1406 Brooklyn, NY 11201

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search