Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

I was in a domestic incident with my boyfriend last weekend. The cops were called, neither of us called them and neither of us filed any sort of charges against one another. He now has been charged with assault and battery I believe. There has been a no contact order in place. In New York state these orders cannot just be lifted they must first be lessened. I am writing a statement to the judge. I would very much like this to be lessened. What are some things I should include, not include? This is his first offence and he has never been in trouble with the law before, we have been together for almost three years and this is the first time that this has happened. What are the chances that this can be resolved so that we can get on with the relationship?

Asked on 10/18/13, 2:48 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Eric Rothstein Rothstein Law PLLC
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

Don't write to the judge. Speak to his lawyer.

Read more
10/19/13, 4:57 am

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

8806 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Anthony RoachLaw Office of Anthony A. RoachChatsworth, CA
Terry A. NelsonNelson & LawlessRiverside, San Bernardino, CA
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now