Legal Question in Criminal Law in New York

This is my first time ever getting any sort of ticket. I am 17 and have to go to court for possesion of alcohol, however I did not drink and the alcohol was not mine. A friend of mine purchased it ( who was also in the car) and a police officer saw it in the back and nobody got breathalyzed besides me and I blew a 0.0 or ticketed for underage drinking just possesion should I plead not guilty? If so would my friend get questioned on purchase of alcohol? What is the fine for pleading guilty in NY for possesion of alcohol and it being your first time offense?

Asked on 5/21/13, 12:53 pm

1 Answer from Attorneys

Robert Evans Robert S. Evans esq.
0 users found helpful
0 attorneys agreed

It all depends on the jurisdiction. In NYC the usual penalty is a fine and NO CRIMINAL RECORD.

Read more
Answered on 5/21/13, 2:12 pm

Related Questions & Answers

More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York

Looking for something else?

Get Free Legal Advice

88393 active attorneys ready to answer your legal questions today.

Find a Legal Form

Browse and download our attorney-prepared and up-to-date legal forms from $4.99

Find a Form

Featured Attorneys

Barry SteinDe Cardenas, Freixas, Stein & ZacharyMiami, FL
Timothy McCormickLibris Solutions - Dispute Resolution ServicesSan Francisco, CA
Charles AspinwallCharles S. Aspinwall, J.D., LLCLos Lunas, NM
Find An Attorney

Are you an Attorney?

Earn additional revenue and grow your business. Join LawGuru Now