New York | Criminal Law
3/13/04, 11:01 pm
Legal Question
United States Penal Codes
What does the charge of violating penal code 140.30 mean in simple terms?
United States Penal Codes
What does the charge of violating penal code 140.30 mean in simple terms?
|
Read More Answered By: Professor Rahul Manchanda, Esq. |
Re: United States Penal Codes Section 140.30 Burglary in the first degree
A person is guilty of burglary in the first degree when he knowingly enters or remains unlawfully in a dwelling with intent to commit a crime therein, and when, in effecting entry or while in the dwelling or in immediate flight therefrom, he or another participant in the crime:
1. Is armed with explosives or a deadly weapon; or
2. Causes physical injury to any person who is not a participant in the crime; or
3. Uses or threatens the immediate use of a dangerous instrument; or
4. Displays what appears to be a pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, machine gun or other firearm; except that in any prosecution under this subdivision, it is an affirmative defense that such pistol, revolver, rifle, shotgun, machine gun or other firearm was not a loaded weapon from which a shot, readily capable of producing death or other serious physical injury, could be discharged. Nothing contained in this subdivision shall constitute a defense to a prosecution for, or preclude a conviction of, burglary in the second degree, burglary in the third degree or any other crime.
Burglary in the first degree is a class B felony. |
|
Read More Answered By: Richard Roberts |
Re: United States Penal Codes This appears to be a NYS Penal Code. 140.30 is the code section for burglary in the 1st degree.
(914)668-6622 |
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 1374
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-02-14
Woodbury, NY
Questions Answered: 1371
Last Question Aswered on: 2008-10-02
Brooklyn, NY
Questions Answered: 1359
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-07
Closter, NJ
Questions Answered: 1320
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-22
Hawthorne, NY
Questions Answered: 975
Last Question Aswered on: 2010-12-10
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 744
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-05-18
Englewood Cliffs, NJ
Questions Answered: 630
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-30
New York, NY
Questions Answered: 595
Last Question Aswered on: 2012-04-12
Buffalo, NY
Questions Answered: 564
Last Question Aswered on: 2009-07-14
► Violation of probation as a juvenile who is now over the age of 18 Violation of...
► Incorrectly filled out appearance ticket My girlfreind recieved an appearance ticket...
► Record Sealing or Expungement 14 years ago, at the age of 19yrs old, I was arrested...
► Agravated Harassment How much time am I facing if convicted of Agravated Harassment?...
► Internet Instant Messaging Boundaries I think one of my friends is in trouble. He's...
► Bail I wanted some clarification on if I sign to bail a person out of jail an put...
► Aggravated harrassment If a person files an aggravated harrasment charge against you...
More Criminal Law questions and answers in New York| Bill of Sale | Living Will |
| Contracts | Notices |
| Divorce | Power of Attorney |
| Employment | Quitclaim Deeds |
| Landlord & Tenant | Real Estate |
| Leases & Rentals | Sales and Purchases |
| Letters | Wills |
| Living Trusts | More... |
© WebsiteBroker, Inc.
LawGuru.com | Advertise on LawGuru | Affiliate Program | Privacy | About Us | Press