New York  |  Discrimination Law

question bubble
11/09/09, 1:11 pm

Legal Question


I was demoted and transferred to a branch that is further away than the branch that I was hired for over three years ago as a result of my employer finding out that I filed bankruptcy. They stated that I was an embarrasment and needed to be punished. Where do I need to file a complaint? I've looked at the EEOC and NYS Department of Human Rights but it doesn't seem like either of these agencies cover this type of discrimination.


question bubble
11/15/09, 8:09 am

Legal Answer


There is no law governing economic discrimination as you outlined in your inquiry.

Locksley Wade

Law Office of Locksley O. Wade 110 Wall Street, 11th Floor New York, NY 10005

Other answers from this attorney
Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search