New York | Education Law
Legal Question
school negligence
My daughter asked the school nurse for an ice pack for her sore knee. The nurse referred her to the front office for one- as she was out of ice packs and was leaving the school for a doctor's appointment. The clerk handed my 17 year old daughter a reusable gel ice pack from the freezer in a plastic bag and sent my daughter to class. My daughter had to find paper towels to wrap it with. SHe kept it on 15 minutes and when she removed it gell was on her knee and hand and her knee was severely reddened. As it turns out she has 2nd degree frostbite and the doctors think chemical burns. She has not been able to practice varsity Lacrosse since the incident. It blistered and the doctors say it will leave a scar. Is this negligence?


