New York | Education Law
Legal Question
A teacher was found liable for battery but not assault in civil court. The alleged events took place 12 years ago in another state. The teacher has taught in NY without incident since then. The superintendent of her district was notified about the incident and civil verdict. Are they required by law to report this to the NYS State Education Department? As a result if the teacher loses her teaching license, could she then bring a suit against the superintendent and district that reported her?


