New York  |  Elder Law

question bubble
8/13/07, 9:44 am

Legal Question


Nursing Home Dept

I was power of attorney for my dad who recently past away. He spent the last 2 and a half years in a nursing home and they have maintained that I owe them $17,000 to them for a 2 month delay in the medicaid application. They have hired a law firm and want me to pay the whole amount at once. I need to know if I have any recourse or can I make payments through an extended period of time because I dont have that kind of money. I do have a home that currently has a mortgage on it and I tried to borrow the money but have been turned down because my credit score is too low and have a bad dept to income ratio. Will they try to put a lean on the house or try to seize assets. Please help me. Thank you.


Search Past Answers:
  Advanced Search